Municipal Complex Updates

Elections Results 2014

New Flood Zones

File a Police Report Online


What's Happening

Passport Services


May 20, 2009: Tennis Center announces Club Championships Winners

Over the past three months, the Tennis Center of Coral Springs held its annual championships, culminating with a finals weekend on April 25 and 26.  On May 15, all of the players gathered to receive their awards.

“The turnout was great and everyone really enjoyed the camaraderie,” City Tennis Director Kevin McCarthy said.

Gary Mandragona won the Men’s “A” Singles. Rich Waltz came in as a finalist, Jaime Barreto took home third place and Rob Alter won the consolation prize. Art Brand was named champion of the Men’s “B” Singles. Ken Curry followed at second place and Bill Cordes took third place.

For the Women’s “A” Singles, Michelle Takenaka came in first place, followed by Renee Waltz. Cheri McCurdy took third place.

Mike Shapiro and Rich Waltz were the winning team for the Men’s Doubles Championship. Bruce Kohle and Ken Shutsky were finalists in this division. Larry Padgett and Hernan Maggi took third place and Joe Ramdhanie and Dave Bosset took home a consolation prize.

Michelle Takenaka and Sophie Chen came in first place for the Women’s “A” Doubles, followed closely by Raquel Hada and Ann Schwartz. Tatiana Fischer and Donna Samet came in third place and Theresa Crosno and Kristie Cole were awarded the consolation prize. Carrie Webster and Rosie Rivera came in first for the Women’s “B” Doubles division. Karen and Bernadine House were the finalists, followed by Stacey Peer and Anne Mursten in third place. Patti Kohle and Charlotte Padgett received the consolation prize.

Lastly, Jaime and Maria Barreto won first place for the Mixed “A” Doubles. Renee and Rich Waltz came in as finalists. Marion Serphos and Bryan Ryder were named champions of the Mixed “B” Doubles, followed closely by Cheri McCurdy and Pat Fleming.

For more information on any of our tennis programs, call 954-344-1840.

Bookmark and Share