Municipal Complex Updates

Elections Results 2014

New Flood Zones

File a Police Report Online


What's Happening

Passport Services


August 20, 2008: Gold nominated to Florida League of Cities Board of Directors

On August 16, 2008, the Florida League of Cities appointed Coral Springs Commissioner Roy Gold to be on the Board of Directors for District 13 at an annual business meeting and educational conference held in Tampa.

“This is a rare honor and opportunity to serve on this widely respected municipal organization,” Commissioner Gold said. “I look forward to being part of this representative group of statewide elected officials.”

The Florida League of Cities’ goal is to promote local self-government and serve the needs of the municipal governments in Florida, which includes advocacy at both state and federal levels, increasing public knowledge of municipal services and issues, providing municipal officials with training and technical assistance, and providing cost effective programs and products to local governments.

The 54-member Board of Directors for the Florida League of Cities consists of a president, first vice president, second vice president, 30 directors who represent 14 geographical districts, one director from each of the 10 most populous cities, all past presidents, and an at-large seat for any elected municipal official beginning his or her 50th year in elective office for as long as such official is otherwise qualified to serve as a director. All officers and directors of the League are elected at the annual meeting and serve a one-year term.

Gold was also recently recognized by the National League of Cities’ Leadership Training Institute. He received a Certificate of Achievement in Leadership Excellence for the successful completion of the Silver Certificate—Leadership Executive program.

About Florida League of Cities

The Florida League of Cities was created in 1922 by city officials who wished to unite the municipal governments in the state. From a modest beginning of just a few cities and towns, the Florida League of Cities has become one of the largest state municipal leagues in the nation.

Membership in the League is limited to any municipality or other unit of local government rendering municipal services in Florida. Currently, 99 percent of Florida’s 412 municipalities and five charter counties are represented by their voluntary membership in the Florida League of Cities. The membership dues structure is based on population.

About National League of Cities
The National League of Cities is the oldest and largest national organization representing municipal governments throughout the United States. Its mission is to strengthen and promote cities as centers of opportunity, leadership and governance.

Working in partnership with the 49 state municipal leagues, the National League of Cities serves as a resource to and an advocate for the more than 19,000 cities, villages and towns it represents.  More than 1,600 municipalities of all sizes pay dues and actively participate as leaders and voting members in the organization.  



Bookmark and Share