Municipal Complex Updates

Elections Results 2014

New Flood Zones

File a Police Report Online


What's Happening

Passport Services


January 7, 2009: City Commission recognizes locals’ accomplishments

On Tuesday, January 6, the City Commission presented Olympic Swimmer Dara Torres and Olympic Coach Michael Lohberg with keys to the City.
“You’ve brought honor to our City, and we are privileged to have you,” Commissioner Claudette Bruck said.
The Commission honored Torres for being a five-time Olympian with 12 Olympic medals and a triple Silver medalist at the 2008 Beijing Olympic Games. Lohberg, a six-time Olympic coach and head coach of the Coral Springs Swim Club for the past 19 years, coached Torres as well as other Olympic swimmers.
“It’s been an honor to represent Coral Springs, and I’m proud to wear the Coral Springs name on my T-shirt and cap everywhere I go,” Torres said. “Thank you all for your support.”
 Next, the City Commission recognized the Holiday Parade award winners, including:

· Best High School Band – J.P. Taravella High School
· Best Middle School Band – Sawgrass Springs Middle School
Best Floats (For Profit)
· Mayor’s Cup – Country Club of Coral Springs
· Vice Mayor’s Cup- Sun-Sentinel
· Commissioner’s Cup- Two Men and a Truck
Best Floats (Not for Profit)
· Mayor’s Cup – Coral Springs Charter School Human Relations Club
· Vice Mayor’s Cup – Coral Springs Charter School Student Government
· Commissioner’s Cup – Sons of Norway

Commissioners also recognized the band sponsors, which included Awards Pro, Al Hendrickson Toyota, Coral Springs Auto Mall, The Country Club of Coral Springs, Edco Awards, George Poveromo’s World of Saltwater Fishing, Maroone Chrysler Jeep, Maroone Ford of Margate, Sun-Sentinel, Wings Plus, and Winterfest Boat Parade. Advanced Cable Communications was the parade’s Mayor’s Cup sponsor. Lastly, they recognized the committee members who helped make the event such a success: Louis Goldstein, Susan Knight, Nedra Lyon, Dale Stouffer, Christine Parkinson-Jahrsdoerfer, Kim Sanecki, Joe Barbuto, Eric Schuster, Kris Boogren, Sandy Lieberman, Ron Besser, Melissa Krupin.

The Fire Department also recognized four residents with Lifesaving Certificates for their courageous efforts during an emergency on Wednesday, December 3. A vehicle veered off the roadway near Sample Road and Turtle Run Boulevard into a lake. Kristen M. Weot, Howard Kotin, John G. Szabo, and Off-Duty BSO Deputy Chris Kapish stepped forward and rushed to assist, helping rescue both passengers. Off-duty Fire Lieutenant David Schneider waited on shore and immediately administered first aid.
“It is for their heroic actions and total disregard for their own life and safety that we present them with the Coral Springs Fire Department Community Service Award,” Fire Chief Mark Curran said.

The Commission also recognized local students for their community service. The President's Volunteer Service Award recognizes individuals who have achieved a certain standard – measured by the number of hours served during a 12-month period or cumulative hours earned through the course of a lifetime. The following students received the Gold Level Award for contributing 250 hours or more: James Joseph Flaig, Samuel Alex Ramkisson, Ryan Roehrig, Ashley R. Schemtob, Jillian E. Tate, and Troy Verdaguer. Silver Level Awards (175 to 249 hours) went to Sean Adler and William Costagliola. Lastly, Steven D. Darrow, Matthew Faigman, Crystal Forde and Andrew Gillespie received the Bronze Level Award for volunteering 100 to 174 hours. All the students participated in the Coral Springs Police Department Youth Mentoring Program.

Finally, the City Commission proclaimed the month of Janua

Bookmark and Share