Municipal Complex Updates

Elections Results 2014

New Flood Zones

File a Police Report Online


What's Happening

Passport Services


March 3, 2010: City Commission recognizes its youth and volunteers

During the Tuesday, March 2, Commission Meeting, City officials recognized residents who volunteered their time and effort in hosting the Coral Springs Jobs Now! Career Expo on January 30.  Together, these volunteers assisted many residents with their employment search and professional development. Plans are already underway for another career expo next year.

“I just want you to know how proud we are to have created this project and to know that we made a difference with all the people in our community,” Participant Jessica Shuler said.

Participants recognized include Don McCarty, Kymarie Bailey, Kenny Benko, Sharon Brown, Barb Capeletti, Beth Anne Carr, David F. Carr, Linda Daniel, Bruce Davis, Bill Dietz, Lisa Hariton, Adela Hassan, Nancy Klareich, Beth Lerner, Ruthy Marquez, Dawn Martin, Nathaly Muller, David Reece, Sherry Reece, Paulette Samai, Kit Schulman, Jessica Shuler and Andrew Winninger.

The City held a poster contest recently to highlight “The Importance of the Census” and encourage residents to participate in this year’s census. Winners of the poster contest were recognized. Madison Kelleher, third grader from Riverside Elementary, received first place. Rosario Palmer, eighth grader from Sawgrass Springs Middle also received first place in the middle school category. Caroline Kaplan, eight grader from Ramblewood Middle took second place and Jamisha Jasmin, seventh grader from Sawgrass Springs Middle received third place. Bello Charlotin won first place, Julia Hinkes received second place and Jennifer Burchard took third place in the high school category. All of them are seniors at Coral Springs High.

All households will receive the Census form starting March 15. Residents should know that the form is short and all answers remain confidential. For more information on the 2010 Census, visit

City officials also recognized graduates of the 2010 UniTown for demonstrating commitment to leadership, diversity and the community,

“These kids are awesome. The purpose of UniTown is to encourage leadership, to stamp out hate and discrimination, and the experience really does that,” Vice Mayor Claudette Bruck said. “If there is anyone that you feel uncomfortable with, get to know that person, their background, their race and their creed because that’s when we can begin to drop the barriers.”

Graduates are Justin D’Acunha, Bertholin Destinvil, Tucker Fisher, Gregory Loiseau, Eduardo Morales, Connor Perfect, Taso Peters, Jade Phillips, Taylor Rizzuto, Niabelle Thelemaque, Manuel Zaldivar, Nicole Dumbroff, Daina Fuller, Douglas Fuller, Cheyenne Smith, Kevin Sparkman, Coralie Alexis, Stephon Dryden, Kendall Glaure, Kenya Glaure, Shaneque Harvey, Ornela Hyman, Ana Martinez, Sedaysha Samuel, Meisha Senior, Kimberly Coutinho, Heather Waroff, Marnelle Chery, Stephanie Durso, Chelcea Jackson, Maia Jones, Ka-Hing Leung, Shawna-Marie Scott, Paige Youssef, Michael Lin, Dennis Tang and Daniel Wharton.

“I want to thank you for your courage and bravery to do the program and now having done the program, I invite you all to make a difference in the community by speaking out and up to others when they express prejudice and discrimination,” Mayor Brook said.

In addition, the City Commission recognized the students who participated in this year’s Teen Political Form in January. The purpose of this Forum is to have city and county elected officials enlighten students with their personal experiences as elected officials and address teen issues of interest, concluding with a Q & A from the student audience.

“These students represent six of our high schools and they were kind enough to dedicate a lot of their time for four months and work on the program in a beautiful way,” Commissioner Roy Gold said. “Ninety-eight percent of the audience said they would recommend attending the Forum to their friends, so we’ve reached a great audience and you guys did a fantastic job.”

Participants recognized include Michelle Martin, Jessica Suarez, Ashley Schemtob, Ashley Wright, Giancarlo Atassi, Lucy Ghantous, Jameson Kelliher, Lee Braun, Steven Johnsen, Courtney Librizzi, Emily Pender, Michael Brenner, Brian Kaplan, Eric Kaplan, Sam Lashin, Sangitha Palaniappa, Aly Palazzo, Shane Randel and Josh Rieger.

Atalia Hernandez, fourth grader from Country Hills Elementary School, was also recognized for receiving first place in the 2009 Broward County Environmental Coloring and Poem Contest on Water Conservation.

Lastly, the City Commission proclaimed March 5 through March 7 as Our Town America 2010 Family Festival. The City Commission supports and encourages an awareness of community spirit and takes pride in the continuing growth of Coral Springs. For 30 successful  years, Our Town America has served as a time for residents to join together and celebrate our community spirit. For details, visit

Photos of these recognitions will be available later this week at 


Bookmark and Share