Municipal Complex Updates

Elections Results 2014

New Flood Zones

File a Police Report Online


What's Happening

Passport Services


June 16, 2010: City Commission recognizes outstanding students and volunteers

During the Tuesday, June 15, Commission meeting, City officials recognized Billie Miller for her outstanding contribution to the level of excellence achieved at the Coral Springs Charter School as she retires.

“At the helm of this wonderful school and all the progress that it has made over the six years is Billie Miller,” Mayor Scott Brook said. “I just want to tell you how grateful we are, we’re going to miss you.”

Miller has worked for the Broward Public Schools for 31 years, retired for a day and then became the principal of Coral Springs Charter School, which consistently received an “A” rating for the six years of her tenure.

“I want to tell you how much I appreciate, not only what you did for our Charter School and for our students, but the spirit with which you did it,” Vice Mayor Claudette Bruck added.

“Thank you very much. This is indeed an honor and I cannot tell you how much the last six years have meant to me. I have enjoyed being the principal and instructional leader at Coral Springs Charter School. I have had the opportunity to work with a wonderful support staff, and I do not do my job alone. I also personally want to thank our school board and City Commission for their support as well as my advisory board,” Miller said.

Each year, Representative Ari Porth recognizes students who are graduating from elementary, middle or high school and have demonstrated exemplary service to their schools and communities with the receipt of the Florida House of Representatives Community Service Award.

“I am so inspired by our young people and some of these students are elementary school kids that are going above and beyond the call of duty every day to make our community a better place,” Representative Porth said.

The following students were recognized: Belle La Montagne from Challenger Elementary; Cameron Chicutt, Kylie Simmons and Thalia Sizemore from Coral Park Elementary; Joyce Santiago from Coral Springs Elementary; Amanda Straus from Eagle Ridge Elementary; Eric Bressler, Daniel Courson, Kenneth Sigueroa and Randall Slapikas from Hunt Elementary; Andrew Weingrovitz from Maplewood Elementary; Sara Carroll from Park Springs Elementary; Allie Macloed from Parkside Elementary; Alexis Marcelle from Ramblewood Elementary; Danielle Serrano from Westchester Elementary; Steven Barbuto from Coral Springs Charter; Sabrina Brown from Coral Springs Middle; Tyler Friedman from Forest Glen Middle; Shakiem Frazier from Millenium Middle; Natasha Riley from Ramblewood Middle; Sharmila Singh from Sawgrass Springs Middle; Natasha Rivas from Westpine Middle; Fedline Northelium from Coral Glades High; Talia Varone from Coral Springs High; and Pamela Colenta and James Newman from J.P. Taravella High.

The Commission also recognized Fort Lauderdale Detective John Jensen for assisting 9 year-old Coral Springs resident Amanda Straus with her Bear Hugs and Bandage relief for Haiti. Jensen delivered the toys that Straus collected to the children of Haiti and the local orphanages and surviving schools.

The Commission also recognized some Girl Scouts who were recently awarded for their involvement in community projects. Rachel Rubin received the Gold Award for her “Blankets for Knights” project, in which she secured donations of materials for more than 200 blankets, taught a group of kids to crochet and coordinated with the Broward County Veterans Association to distribute the blankets to soldiers. Angelica Silva also received the Gold Award for her “Juvenile Environmental Awareness” project, in which she taught school-age children the importance of ecology and planted six native live oak trees at Doral Meadows Park.
Valerie Be June, Shelbye Fink, Haley Kondaki, Kimberly Neale, Christina Sofianos, and Alexis Wheeler were recognized for winning the Silver Award for their Scarves from Scouts project. Nicole Claros, who worked on Friends for Friends project, and Victoria Abreu, who worked on Help the Homeless Kids, also received Silver Awards.

Haley Amann, Kate Brothman, Alyssa Guariniello, Elizabeth Hans, Grace Loonam, Ruhi Mansey, Carly Medwin, Noor Shirazi and Emily Tomchin also received the Bronze Award for participating in a project titled Horse Rescue, in which they donated a new bench for the many volunteers that help the horses at FRIENDS ranch.

“It’s great to see so many young people that are making a difference in the community and it’s our pleasure to recognize them,” Mayor Brook said.

Commissioners then recognized a group of 10 City employees who won the quarterly Applause Card drawing. Applause Cards are internal awards given to employees who provide premier customer service, and each quarter, 10 are chosen in a random drawing and recognized publicly at the meetings.

Employees recognized were: Paula Carroll (Police), Anthony Cassini (Police), Thomas Ciampi (Police), Debra Collins (Police), Janice Darrow (Development Services), Bonnie Enderby (Financial Services), Michael Hughes (Police), David Marks (Public Works), Michele Martin (Police) and Thomas Martin (Public Works).

“As you all are representatives of outstanding customer service, we just want to thank you for the wonderful job you do for the City and thanks for making our citizens feel special,” Brook said. “Keep up the good work.”

Photos of these recognitions are available at 

Bookmark and Share